skip navigation

About Us


SALUTE, INC. was founded in 2003 by Will and Mary Beth Beiersdorf of Arlington Heights, Illinois.

Shortly after 9/11, Will, a Naval Reservist, was called to active duty and deployed to Guantanamo Bay, Cuba for thirteen months. The severe financial impact his deployment had on his family came as a startling revelation.

While Will was serving in Cuba,
Mary Beth was overwhelmed with the magnitude of what she and their three sons were facing. In addition to the lack of finances, Mary Beth and her children coped with the fear of the unknown and the emotional strain caused by their separation from Will.

With the help, support and outpouring of love from family, friends, their church and their community, they were able to survive. Upon Will's return, both he and Mary Beth felt the need to "give back" by helping others who were experiencing similar hardships.

In 2003, they decided to start an organization whose fundraising efforts would be based around a yearly Memorial Day Family Run/Walk. After sharing their vision with family, friends and pooling their resources, Salute was born!

SALUTE, INC. is now a recognized 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that provides financial support for our military men and women through a variety of fundraising activities.

FOUNDERS: Will & MaryBeth Beiersdorf

The Mission

To passionately pursue meeting the financial, physical and emotional needs of military service members, veterans and their families. We strive to raise awareness of their sacrifices and provide a safety net to ensure every military family is treated with honor and dignity.


    President - Marc Gallant

   Vice President - Curt Matlin

   Treasurer - Mike Cassady

   Secretary - Lisa Moran

Board of Directors

     Ali Azim 

     Mary Beth Beiersdorf  

     Mike Cassady  

     Chris Duszynski  

     Marc Gallant  

     Tom Hoskinson  

     Bill Luehrs  

     Nancy McIlvaine 

     Curt Matlin  

     Lisa Moran  

     Pat Moroney 

     Scott Skinger  

Associate Board of Directors

Mike Terranova - President 

Kellen Monti - Vice President 

Jay Fabian - Vice President 

Jake Levin - Director

Grant Keller - Director

Founding Board Members

    Will Beiersdorf

     Mary Beth Beiersdorf

     Mike Flynn

     Joe Healy

     Gary Jones

     Mike Robbins

     Beth Schwarz

     Chris Schwarz

     Russ Talbot

     Deb Volpe

     Ron White